Are you getting annoyed with the services given by Facebook and not wanting Facebook to start tracking you and finding about how is your everyday life going on? If this is what you are thinking about right now, then check this article to know about How to delete your Facebook account.
So, here we go, people can find you so easily that very often you get surprised about how did Peter come to know about this? Sometimes, “Oh! I had completely forgotten about this and how did you come to know this? Surely, I wouldn’t share my ‘Dark Secrets with you!!! Oh My God!!!'”. Well, it is Facebook who could be responsible for this hapennings and even when you try searching at Google and even as you write “dele…”, you will notice “Delete Facebook account”, as one of the top searches among people. Well, it is not really that simple when you decide to delete your Facebook account and just pressing the “Delete” button. Read further to know about how to completely remove yourself from Facebook in this article.
Table of Contents
Deactivating and Deleting Facebook account
So, you have now decided that you want to leave Facebook and thus when you look for the procedure, you would probably get presented by the Deactivation link. But, keep in mind, deactivation can be activated once again and your information stays just there and can be restored once again upon request. When you Delete your Facebook account, your email address and mailing address are removed. Your Personal data also get removed. Messages and Photos stay on the server for “technical reasons”. As said by the Help center on Facebook, the data which is kept behind which not lead to any clue of it being yours or related to you and will be inaccessible to other users.
Backing up your Facebook account information
In the account settings page, click on General and then on Download a copy of your Facebook Data link. By downloading a copy of your Facebook account, you will have all the posts, photos, contacts, birthday information which will be downloaded in a ZIP format. You can also start by clicking the Padlock in the top Blue Bar, further clicking on See more settings and then clicking on General and Download a copy.
Dealing with connected apps
Facebook app has become a such important part of life as it offers SignUp features by giving access to some of our FB details like UserID, Friend List. With FB app, we do not need to do the SingUp / Registration process and can get internal access in the website without any delay. Thus you might want to first review the apps and then decide whether you want to delete your FB account or if you need to keep it. If you are thinking of not to have Facebook in your life, you may simply avoid visiting it but still keep it for accessing purposes.
Once you have decided on your apps, and still if you wish to delete your Facebook account, first start by turning off the apps platform.
After you have dealt with your apps, you must click on Edit and then click on Turn off platform. In this way, your UserID will not be shared with any of the applications. You will in turn be secure so that your UserID will not be invoked by any other app.
Information that can remain after switching off apps platform
Many of the apps that are connected via Facebook, are third party apps who are bind to the privacy policies of Facebook, although they can have their own Privacy Policies. One of the rules of Facebook asks the third party apps for information about users to be removed if they are being asked for. But, the apps can keep your information for a reasonable people of time for backup, archival and audit purposes.
Clearing your Activity, likes and comments
Click on your Facebook profile page and then on the cover photo towards the Right corner, click on Activity log. On the activity log, uncheck the comments and likes made by you and made for you. Although a time taking procedure, it is worth doing the procedures.
Finally deleting your account
So now, once you have gone through all the steps mentioned above, you can now finally delete the Facebook account.Check on https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account to delete your account safely, completely and securely. Do keep in mind, that files, stuff and images remain on FB for upto 90 days. Check the confirmation mail and click on the link provided. After deleting your account, do not log into your account for up to 2 weeks times, as it is likely that FB may then restore your deleted account.